To all visitors: Kalvos & Damian is now a historical site reflecting nonpop
from 1995-2005. No updates have been made since a special program in 2015.
Kalvos & Damian Logo

Chronicle of the NonPop Revolution

  Composer Profiles

Anna Rubin

Anna Rubin Anna Rubin

Listen to this show

Anna Rubin

Anna Rubin is a composer of electroacoustic and instrumental music. She is currently an Assistant Professor of Composition at Oberlin College Conservatory of Music. Her works have been heard on four continents.

She has received commissions from WNYC Radio, The New York State Council on the Arts, Thomas Buckner, as well as by numerous instrumentalists. Her work has also been supported by grants from the New York Foundation for the Arts and the Ohio State Arts Council.

Her numerous compositions have been written for varied media including chamber ensembles, orchestra, chorus, digital audio and live electronics.

From her concert page:

"My mother has lived 87 years of this century and on her face and hands are a flock of wrinkles as soft as feathers to the touch…" So begins Family Stories: Sophie, Sally (1998) for computer-generated tape and still life, co- composed by Anna Rubin, assistant professor of composition. The piece is one of four Rubin compositions that feature tape, live performances by student and faculty musicians, and poetry readings.

Rubin joined the Conservatory faculty last fall. Her works for computer-generated tape, instruments and voice, often draw their lyrical and dramatic power from the voice. Whether sung, spoken or cried, whether instrumental or electro-acoustic, her works explore extremes of the human condition: a father's nightmares, starvation in the Arctic, the horror of the Holocaust.

To reach the composer:
By telephone/fax:
By physical mail: